Hillsborough, a quintessential New England town, is situated along the banks of the Contoocook River in southern New Hampshire. Granted in 1735 as “Number 7” to Col. John Hill, this small tract of land about six miles square was originally set up as a northern barrier against Native American attacks. Since its incorporation in 1772, Hillsborough has transitioned from small farming community to vibrant mill town to tourist destination and summer residence. Hillsborough has been home to farmers, millers, businessmen, musicians, photographers, governors, and a US president. Even with all of the growth and changes Hillsborough has endured over the centuries, it retains its small-town feel and welcomes all who come to visit.
The Hillsborough Historical Society was established in 1954 to preserve the town’s historical landmarks, customs, and culture. In its effort to protect and disseminate historical knowledge of the town, the historical society operates and maintains the Franklin Pierce Homestead and Heritage Museum and annually hosts the Living History Event. They sponsored the creation of this book with the help of the Manahan Photography Collection and its volunteer archivists.